Author Interviews

Interview with Mark M. Bello, Author of The Final Steps

Let’s give a warm welcome to author, Mark M. Bello. Thank you for joining us today!

How long have you been writing?
Seven Years.

What was the inspiration behind your latest release? 
I wanted to try a new genre and a new character. My last Zachary Blake Legal Thriller was a “whodunnit,” I enjoyed writing it, and it received critical acclaim. I decided it might be a good genre for me, so I developed a concept and outline and here we are!

Why did you decide to write a mystery?
For the reasons stated in number 2 above. I enjoyed writing my last Zachary Blake in that genre.

Where do you get your ideas?
Most of my books are “ripped from the headlines.” The mysteries are not. I’m not sure how a concept “comes to me,” but I get an “idea” and try to develop an outline from that idea. Most of them end up in the garbage. Only two mysteries have become novels.

Do ideas for plot or characters appear first?
Plot first, characters later.

What is your writing process like? Are you more of a plotter or a pantser?
Definitely a pantser.

Have you ever traveled when researching information for a book?
A couple of times, not often.

When did you begin writing?
My first novel, Betrayal of Faith, was based on a real case I handled in my practice. I promised myself I would, one day, write a book about the experience. I started writing it in the early part of this century, but life got in the way. When I retired in 2016, I picked it up again, wrote in earnest, and revised and completed the novel.

How many hours do you dedicate each day toward writing?
4-5 hours five days a week.

What has been your biggest challenge?
Marketing and publicity. It is very difficult to establish yourself as an independent author in the marketplace.

What does literary success mean to you?
Being “discovered.” Having people find and enjoy my novels, children’s books, and cookbook.

What is your favorite part of the writing process?
I enjoy being creative. I like the “writing” part. I don’t like the business or marketing part.

What advice would you like to share with aspiring authors?
Persistence, patience, and have confidence in your ability. As NIKE says, “Just do it!”

If you could give your younger writing self advice, what would it be?
I would have advised myself to make a lot more money before becoming an author.

How do you deal with writer’s block?
Surprisingly, I have not experienced writer’s block.

Which authors inspire you?
Daniel Silva, Pat Conroy, Harper Lee, Richard North Patterson, John Grisholm.

If you could have dinner with another mystery author, who would it be?
Silva.

What are your favorite genres to read?
Legal Thrillers, Espionage, Mysteries.

Do you write in other genres?
Legal Thrillers, Children’s, and one cookbook.

Did any books from your childhood influence you as a writer?
Definitely “To Kill a Mockingbird.”

What part of this book did you have the hardest time writing?
Conceiving it. Once I had an outline, the writing flowed.

What part of this book was the most fun to write?
I enjoyed dropping “clues.” I’ve been reading some reviews and people have commented about the characters and how easy/difficult it was to guess “whodunnit.” I enjoyed creating the mystery while staying in the legal world.

Which of the characters do you relate to the most and why?
I can relate to Rosaline Maxwell, someone who retired from the practice of law and wrote an important book about justice, injustice, and the practice of law.

What project are you currently working on?
I’m currently working on a legal romance novel, another cozy, and my ninth Zachary Blake Legal Thriller.

Upcoming books, events, appearances, giveaways:
I appear on my own podcast, Justice Counts on Spreaker. I also have podcast appearances schedules on legal content and writers’ podcasts. Please check out the press kit at my website at http://www.markmbello.com.

AUTHOR: Mark M. Bello

TITLE: The Final Steps

GENRE: Cozy Legal Mystery

BLURB:

Who murdered a popular law professor on a northern Michigan college campus?

Judge Rosaline Maxwell is living the good life. Retired from the circuit court bench, she now lives in the home of her dreams, lakefront in scenic Harbor Springs, Michigan. She’s written a fascinating new book and is invited to speak at a local college. But her idyllic existence is rudely interrupted by a call from her best friend, Tyler Guthrie, the college president.

A popular law professor has taken his final steps—he is found dead at the bottom of a popular outdoor staircase. The police suspect foul play. There are no witnesses, but key pieces of evidence make Tyler the number one suspect. After his arrest, Rosaline doubts her friend’s innocence but still jumps into the fray, abandoning the law, antagonizing local police, becoming an amateur sleuth with one goal and one goal only: To prove, conclusively, that Tyler Guthrie is innocent of this brutal crime.

Along the way, Rosaline receives anonymous death threats, warning her to stay away from the investigation, but the former judge will not be deterred from her quest for the truth. There is no shortage of interesting and quirky suspects as attorney/award-winning author Mark M. Bello keeps you guessing ‘whodunnit’ until the very end. 

If not Tyler Guthrie, who killed Professor Kevin Johnstone?

AUTHOR BIO:

https://www.amazon.com/stores/author/B01N4KDCPA/about

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Pinterest

Amazon

Goodreads

BookBub

PURCHASE LINK:

Amazon Kindle

Amazon Paperback

Leave a comment